Welcome to Great Racehorses of the World
Search By Horse Name or Keyword

Dubai World Cup winners

Dubai World Cup winners
The Dubai World Cup is the highlight of the World`s richest race meeting run at Nad Al Sheba on the last saturday in March.

The race is run on dirt over 2,000 m and has Group 1 status.

The first Dubai World Cup was run in 1996 and the winners since then are :

1996 - Cigar
1997 - Singspiel
1998 - Silver Charm
1999 - Almutawakel
2000 - Dubai Millennium
2001 - Captain Steve
2002 - Street Cry
2003 - Moon Ballad
2004 - Pleasantly Perfect
2005 - Roses in May
2006 - Electrocutionist
2007 - Invasor

Godolphin has owned three winners (Dubai Millennium, Street Cry and Moon Ballad), while Sheikh Mohammed owned and bred 1997 winner Singspiel.

The race has been won by jockey Jerry Bailey on four occassions (on Cigar, Singspiel, Captain Steve and Street Cry).

Cigar, Pleasantly Perfect and Invasor have won both the Dubai World Cup and the Breeders Cup Classic.

About Us

Great Racehorses of the World is based in Sydney and London.

The Great Racehorses team has followed top class international horseracing for over fourty years and has developed its own unique approach to rating leading horses.

Great Racehorses' horse biographies are for personal use only and may not be reproduced, copied or reissued without the prior written permission of Great Racehorses.

Great Racehorses is owned by Hyperion Stud.

Great Racehorses' opinions on horses and on events in the racing world are given by resident columnist "Hyperion" (Editor - Robert Bishop). Hyperion's views are published for information and commentary purposes only, without assuming a duty of care or giving any warranty or betting recommendation.

See Contact Us for our contact details - we welcome any feedback or questions from readers.