Welcome to Great Racehorses of the World
Search By Horse Name or Keyword

English Classics

The five English Classic races are the 1000 Guineas and the 2000 Guineas (run at Newmarket), the Derby and the Oaks (run at Epsom) and the St Leger (run at Doncaster).

The oldest classic is the St Leger, which was first run in 1776. The Derby was first run in 1780.

About Us

Great Racehorses of the World is based in Sydney and London.

The Great Racehorses team has followed top class international horseracing for over fourty years and has developed its own unique approach to rating leading horses.

Great Racehorses' horse biographies are for personal use only and may not be reproduced, copied or reissued without the prior written permission of Great Racehorses.

Great Racehorses is owned by Hyperion Stud.

Great Racehorses' opinions on horses and on events in the racing world are given by resident columnist "Hyperion" (Editor - Robert Bishop). Hyperion's views are published for information and commentary purposes only, without assuming a duty of care or giving any warranty or betting recommendation.

See Contact Us for our contact details - we welcome any feedback or questions from readers.