Welcome to Great Racehorses of the World
Search By Horse Name or Keyword

Dubai Sheema Classic winners

The Dubai Sheema Classic is run on Turf over 2,400 metres at Nad Al Sheba on Dubai World Cup Night.

It has enjoyed Group 1 status since June 2001.

The Dubai Sheema Classic was first run in 1998 and the winners since then are :

1998 - Stowaway
1999 - Fruits of love
2000 - Fantastic Light
2001 - Stay Gold
2002 - Nayef
2003 - Sulamani
2004 - Polish Summer
2005 - Phoenix Reach
2006 - Hearts Cry
2007 - Vengeance of Rain

Both Frankie Dettori (Stowaway and Sulamani) and Kieren Fallon (Fruits of Love and Fantastic Light) have ridden the winner of the Dubai Sheema Classic on two occasions.

Saeed bin Suroor has trained two winners – Stowaway and Sulamani.

About Us

Great Racehorses of the World is based in Sydney and London.

The Great Racehorses team has followed top class international horseracing for over fourty years and has developed its own unique approach to rating leading horses.

Great Racehorses' horse biographies are for personal use only and may not be reproduced, copied or reissued without the prior written permission of Great Racehorses.

Great Racehorses is owned by Hyperion Stud.

Great Racehorses' opinions on horses and on events in the racing world are given by resident columnist "Hyperion" (Editor - Robert Bishop). Hyperion's views are published for information and commentary purposes only, without assuming a duty of care or giving any warranty or betting recommendation.

See Contact Us for our contact details - we welcome any feedback or questions from readers.